Friday, January 7, 2011

Let the love flow!

The happiness of life...
is made up of minute fractions
-the little, soon-forgotten charities of a kiss,
a smile, a kind look, a heartfelt compliment.
-Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Today as I rushed to the train, after my teaching, I needed to stop. It was LOVE in the air. Love sparkled between a grandpa and his newborn grandson. They had an unforgettable precious time, which I was lucky to witness.

Our heart chakra, anahata, is positioned in the center of our chest. The Heart chakra is about love, kindness and affection. Our fourth chakra isn´t primarily about falling in love. Instead its fire is fuelled by the love of creation. The same love that causes us to delight in the feel of soft rain or the scent of a flower.

When the LOVE chakra is:

-open, you are compassionate and friendly

-under-active, you are cold and distant

-over-active, you are suffocating people with your love and your love probably has quite selfish reasons.

Practicing the fish pose, matsyasana, opens and allows the beautiful symbolic lotus at the Heart chakra to flower.

A more gentle version is done by placing your hands/elbows on the floor to support you and keeping your legs grounded on the mat.

Let the love flow!

1 comment:

  1. Hello there!
    Yes, let the love flow!

    Light and blessings*