Monday, November 8, 2010


Who looks outside, dreams.
Who looks inside, awakens.

-Carl Jung

In yoga you tame wild thoughts and deepen the awareness with drishti, the method of gazing at a focal point.

Drishti can help you draw your outward looking eyes and mind—inward.

Thereby you cultivate a deeper level of concentration, improve your alignment, and tune into the inner sensations of the body in
every pose

The Ashtanga Yoga system identifies nine focal points.

1. tip of the nose
2. between the eyebrows
3. navel
4. hand
5. toes
6. far to the right
7. far to the left
8. thumbs
9. up to the sky

Where to look isn’t as important as how to look—the key is to shift your focus toward your inner experience.

Analysing the drishti from the Ayurvedic point of view the Vatas benefit by closing their eyes during the yoga practice. Calming down the Vata wind.

For those Vatas who aren´t ready to confront the innermost parts the gaze stays on the ground.

Pittas transform everything with their eyes. They benefit from gazing at the horizon with soft eyes to cool down.

The stable Kaphas get going by having sharp eyes focused up at the sky to generate change, heat and lightness.


  1. Thanks, they were taken during our holiday in Thailand.

  2. Hej hej!
    Vilket bra inlägg! Nu vet jag vad jag ska fokusera på....dristhi.